‘The Stables’ Lunch.

Today, we went to ‘The Stables’ just outside Kirkintilloch today for lunch on our way home from visiting The Cats Protection League with the Grampa.

I was feeling quite optimistic as so far I’ve managed to eat out having baked potato’s and curry dishes. However, my optimism was soon washed away.

First concern was the menu had no ‘V’ or ‘GF’ so I instead read through the double sided menu, mentally sifting out the negatives. With the help of my partner I settled on soup to start and a veggie type burger without the bun for main. So I asked if the soup (spiced carrot) was dairy free. The staff member asked the chef who replied

“can’t say yes as the box doesn’t have the allergens”

so I was advised it might not be a good idea, and instead selected the olives and veggie burger – where I was happily told they had GF bread. Yay! So positivity restored, food ordered and staff member lovely. But she retuned to tell me the veggie burger was out of stock so to pick something else . . . like the fish. Which was battered. or the risotto which was pre made with cheese. I assume this box carried some information this time. So, after searching the whole menu umpteen times I settled on chips and the spiced carrot soup – as the dressed side salad sounded pretty miserable as it would have to be naked for me.

Olives where lovely and surprisingly filling, but the main was pretty dire and rather embarrassing sitting next to my family who both had main meals. I try not to make a big thing out of having food intolerances but when your sat with that as you main course it’s rather hard not too. Also, after further investigation I can safely assume the bread was not egg or dairy free.

So, regrettably I must say I will not be returning to this restaurant anytime in the near future, as there did not appear to be a basic understanding of food intolerances at all through the staff we spoke too.

Intolerance; 2, Me; 0.

 

Leave a Reply

